The Plan To Cloth Diaper

Standard

I’ve been up and on Pinterest all night, and come to a conclusion – I want to try cloth diapering 🙂  This is something I’ve considered previously, but was only supported by one or two friends, so I went with the simpler disposable diapers.  My friend (who also has four children) cloth diapered all her little ones, and raves about all the benefits.

Cost Savings

Over a three year period, disposables will cost around $2,625, while cloth diapers will cost around $1,105, which equals a saving of $305, but that’s if you BUY the cloth diapers – I intend to make them myself and buy some second-hand.  Making them myself will save me even more money, which is fantastic!

Diaper Rash

Apparently, using cloth diapers causes less or no diaper rashes, which is pretty great.  I’m also going to use reusable cloth wipes, which will also help in this area.

Potty Training

Also, potty training tends to go a lot more smoothly when using cloth diapers.  That benefit is almost more impressive to me than the monetary savings.

Environment

In the course of a child’s diapering phase, a baby wearing disposables will contribule 8,000-10,000 diapers to the landfill.  This kind of diapers takes 500 years to decompose.

My plan is to make a few with removable liners, and see how it goes.  If it goes well, I’ll continue to make more.  If it’s a flop, I’ll give away or sell what I made.  Either way, I will have tried, and I can be proud of that 🙂

Leave a Comment

