Is The WAHM A Sham Or Just In A Jam?

Standard

Good morning.  Today I’m going to introduce you to the chaotic side of my life – the me you don’t see.  To meet me, you’d think I’m just the average wife and mother – a grocery shopping, house cleaning, nose wiping handy-woman…but you’d be wrong.  The me you don’t see if forgetful, late, disorganized, can’t multitask, and finds herself apologizing all the time.

So what’s up?  Is the whole blog a facade?  Minimalist Monday, Tackle It Tuesday…Have I been trying to trick my readers into believing I’m something I’m not?  No, absolutely not.  The fact is, I use this blog as one of my tools, to keep me on track, and accountable.

I believe I have a mild form of Fetal Alcohol Effects (FAE), and as a result, I struggle with memory and organization.  I don’t use FAE as a crutch, so I don’t tell people about it.  In reality, it’s something that’s managed and not treated anyway, so I’m just searching for some sort of management system that works for me, although at 31, you’d think I’d have found it by now 🙂  I’ve tried schedules, sticky notes, labeled bins, watches, day planners etc.  So far…nothing works.  My goal now is the minimalist approach.  In theory, if I have less, there should be less to misplace and forget about.  It’s worth a try.  I’ve even gone so far as to consider hiring a house cleaner once a month.  Luckily, I have amazing friends and family who are very understanding and non-judgmental, and even a few who offer to help out now and then.  That is completely humbling, and on the edge of embarrassing, but unfortunately it’s necessary sometimes.  I mean, I’m also a wife and mother, and my family means everything to me, so sacrificing my pride to keep them safe and happy is worth it.

So please don’t think I’m some perfectionist trying to “show you how it’s done”.  The truth is that it’s the opposite – this is my daily struggle, and I need you, your support and insight along the way 🙂  Thank you.

Leave a Comment

