Tackle It Tuesday – My Legacy

Standard

I went to a funeral last night for a  wonderful woman who used to babysit me.  She and my mom stayed in touch, but I’m just not one of those people who puts a lot of effort into keeping lots of connections.  I have my close group of friends, and I’m content with that.  As I listened to the many people stand up and share their stories about how this woman had touched their lives, it humbled me.  One phrase that was used to discribe her is “If she knew you for an hour, she loved you for a lifetime”.  Wow, what an amazing legacy!  It made me wonder, if I passed away tomorrow, what would people say about me?  What kind of legacy would I leave behind, or would I be easily forgotten?  Those are pretty sobering thoughts.
So my tackle for today is to work on my legacy, now before it’s too late.  What kind of person:  wife, mother, daughter, sister, niece, cousin, friend etc. will I be?  How can I use the time I have to bless others?  The following will be some tasks I’ll be working on this week:

  • keep a date book with birthdays, anniversaries etc.
  • begin having people over for dinner, games, movies etc.
  • donate time to charities and the needy
  • plan a block party
Leave a Comment

