A Mother`s Choice

Standard

Just needing to vent a bit…
The morning of April 15th 2012 was the last time I officially nursed Kayden.  Since then he`s been on formula, and things are working out great.  The only problem is other adults – mainly those in the medical profession.  How a mother chooses to nourish her child should be up to her.  I wanted to nurse – in fact, I started out nursing, but due to complications during the nursing process (breast infection with meds that cause thrush and yeast infections), I`ve chosen to use formula instead.  When I tell others that I`m using formula though, they look at me with wonder and ask why, and tell me to keep trying to nurse, like I forgot what I was doing and accidentally switched from breast to bottle.
My family`s been amazing through this process though, especially Mike and my mom.  They`re both really empathetic and wish I could nurse due to the many benefits, but know the struggle I went through while trying, so they don`t question me about it.  I think they realize that I as a mother feel guilty in my decision, but I`m doing my best with the situation, and still taking great care of Kayden.
Why those in the medical profession can`t respect my choice is beyond me.
Although formula is expensive, as a mother of an 8 year old with ADHD, a very active 2 year old, and a 3 week old, the decision to bottle feed instead of breast feed has also been a source of survival.  During the times when Kayden is waking every 2 hours at night, I`m up at 7:30am to get Kailer ready for school and then awake all day running after Kaleb, I`m thankful to be able to ingest caffeine and not worry about falling asleep while nursing 🙂

Leave a Comment

