No more nursing

Standard

Kayden is 2 weeks old today, and today is also the day Mike and I sat down and came to an agreement…to stop breast feeding.  I’ve been having troubles since day 1 – a bad latch, sore and cracked nipples, a bad breast infection, and the impending thrush from the antibiotics I’m on for the infection 😦  I’ve been pumping instead of nursing due to the pain, but my milk supply is dwindling fast.  I’ve been wanting to stop nursing for a few days now, but it just felt like such a selfish decision to make on my own, so I told Mike I wanted his opinion.  He said that he would support me either way, but that he sees the pain that nursing is causing, and it’s more stress than a time for bonding, so he was totally fine with it if I wanted to stop.  So, that’s what we decided would be best in this situation.  I’ve gotta say, as much as I wanted to nurse Kayden, at this point I’m relieved not to have to.  Now I can concentrate on healing and not worry about my milk drying up.  Ièll nurse him for the last time tomorrow morning, and then itès straight formula for our little man.

Leave a Comment

