Kayden

Standard

Kayden Diedrich Kristoffer was born at 9:42pm on Saturday March 31st.  He weighed 8 pounds 14.5 ounces and measured 21.5 inches long.  He was exactly 2 weeks early and still in the 95th percentile on the growth chart.

On Friday the 30th, my delivery doctor did a membrane sweep, and I began to have regular contractions that evening and throughout the night.  At 4:20am I woke and realized that my PJ pants were a bit wet.  Assuming it was my water beginning to leak, I went upstairs to wait for the “gush”.  It didn’t come, but instead just more leaking.  I went back downstairs to wake Mike and tell him what was going on.  He began timing my contractions, which were about 2.5 minutes apart and lasting about 30 seconds, so we decided to get ready to head to the hospital.  I woke our oldest son, but couldn’t do a lot more than that due to the constant leaking.  So Mike took a quick shower and got the boys ready and the bags in the car while I called my mom and changed pants again.  At 6:15am the gush came as we were ready to walk out the door, so I cleaned up and off we went to the city.  Contractions continued steadily, but were manageable.  When we got to the hospital I was 3cm dilated, so I was told to walk around to encourage stronger contractions.  During this time I was annoyed at the world, but smiled through it.  I was annoyed that my support people were on their phones while I was in pain, I was annoyed at the nurses for not being as attentive as I would have liked them to be…I was just kind of a grouch, but I refused to let on that I felt any of this.  I would not be one of those women who says terrible things in the moment and lives to regret it 🙂

Eventually I was taken to the labor and delivery room where my mood lightened immediately.  The nurses were absolutely amazing, and my support people were 100% there for me.  Labor progressed, but slowly, and it was suggested that I be induced.  I made the nurses aware of my past experience with an induction and told them to please give me as much information and pain managment options as possible.  They did.  I chose to take Fentanyl on an hourly basis, which definitely took the edge off the contractions, and even allowed me to take cat naps now and then.  When the Oxytocin drip was started to help speed up labor, I asked for the Fentanyl to be increased to every half hour when the drip was increased.  It worked beautifully.  Around 9:30pm I asked my nurse to see if I was at 10 centameters yet.  She did, and found a small sack of water that had not yet ruptured, so the doctor came in to rupture it for me.  As soon as the water broke, I couldn’t help but begin pushing.  The medical team rushed in to get ready.  With about 4 pushes for the head and about 4 for the body, our sweet Kayden was born.  Babies are typically born face down with their belly facing your spine, but Kayden was born face up, and he had some bruising on his head and face from the quick delivery.  His wide shoulders also got stuck, so the doctor had to help by manipulating his body as he was being born.  All in all, a fantastic labor and delivery, and a beautiful baby boy to show for it 😀

Leave a Comment

