Confessions Of A WAHM: Married Single Mom

Standard

My first confession is that I do not have the support system that I seem to have and it hurts and worries me.

I absolutely admire single mothers – whether by choice or decision.  Single parenting has got to be the hardest job there is, so by no means do I want any single moms to be insulted by this post, but I do need to vent.

So what’s the deal with the post title?  Well it explains exactly how I feel most days.  I’m married to an amazing man who has simply chosen not to live up to his potential in the parenting department.  We have 2 children and a third on the way.  At this point you may be asking “Why would you have another child if he’s MIA with the other two?”  Well, I didn’t say he doesn’t love his kids – he absolutely does, with a passion, but he just takes parenting shortcuts more often than not.

For example, we attend an information class for expectant parents every other week.  This last week he told me as we were on our way out the door that he wasn’t going to go with me to the class.  His reason?  “I already have 2 kids.”  He shut up very quickly when he realized what he had said, and allowed me to go off on a let-it-fly kind of rant about how I have those same 2 children, but I attend the classes because as a parent I still have a lot to learn, and so does he.

This is the kind of attitude I do my best to comprimise with on a daily basis.  For the most part, I just suck it up and do what needs to be done.  I make our 8 year old’s lunch for school, sign his agenda, mark down important events, teach him street sense, help him clean his room, know where he is at all times, diagnosed him with ADHD before the doctor, bath our 2 year old, teach him his colors, ABCs, counting, manners and all the other basic skills.  When one of our boys has a nightmare or is hurt, they come to me.  If something is wrong that has anything to do with the boys, it falls on me, not Mike.

I do my best not to complain, and instead to encourage him, but Mike has always taken the easy route, and I just don’t see that changing anytime soon.  Maybe one day…

Leave a Comment

